Friday, May 29, 2015

Doctor Who: The Best Who's

All that Doctor Who stuff made me think about the dozens of producers and directors the show has had not to mention the hundreds of writers.  Then I started wondering who my favorites were or would be if I really put my mind to it.  So never to turn a blind eye to a good blog post subject I present the:

Who's Who of Doctor Who Awards

First up will be the award for best writer.  And the nominees are:

Douglas Adams.  Wrote The Pirate Planet and Shada.  Also co-wrote The City of Death with Graham Williams under the pseudonym David Agnew.

Robert Holmes.  Wrote more episodes (64 in total) of the original series than anyone else.  Some of the most notable: Spearhead from Space, Terror of the Autons, Carnival of Monsters, The Time Warrior, Pyramids of Mars, The Brain of Morbius, The Deadly Assassin, The Talons of Weng-Chiang, The Caves of Androzani, and The Two Doctors


Eric Saward.  Before he quit over a difference of opinion involving the script for The Ultimate Foe and then destroying Johnathan Nathan Turner and Colin Baker in the media, he wrote some pretty good stories.  The Visitation, Earthshock, Resurrection of the Daleks, and Revelation of the Daleks

Terrance Dicks (or Uncle Terry as he is affectionately referred to) was associated with Doctor Who for over 40 years.  His episodes include The War Games, Robot, The Brain of Morbius (re-written substantially by script editor Robert Holmes and credited to the pseudonym Robin Bland), Horror of Fang Rock, State of Decay, and The Five Doctors


Pretty much anything Dalek related that was viewed before 1976 was written by Terry Nation.  Makes sense since he created them.  Stories: The Daleks, The Keys of Marinus, The Dalek Invasion of Earth, The Chase, Mission to the Unknown, The Daleks' Master Plan (episodes 1-5, 7), Planet of the Daleks, Death to the Daleks, Genesis of the Daleks, The Android Invasion, and Destiny of the Daleks.

So there you have it the five nominees for Best Doctor Who Writer.  I will post the winner when I give the nominees for Best Doctor Who Director in a few days.


Wednesday, May 27, 2015

The LONG Awaited Championship Match

Well to say the last six weeks has been difficult is an understatement. We have rebounded and are back with the announcement of the winner of the Doctor Who Field of 64. You know, the contest called March Madness that a winner is crowned usually in April? Yeah, it's been that type of a deal for almost two months. So here we go without further doo-doo:

The War Games




So we have Patrick Troughton's (not to mention Zoe, and Jamie) epic final story going against the story with one of the biggest and most shocking moments in Doctor Who history; the death of Adric.  Both worthy and very entertaining stories but in the end there can be only one.  What is this Highlander?  AnyWHO, the grand champion and winner of the title Best Original Doctor Who Story is:


Now let's go celebrate the victory the only way we know how.